tripntravels: teaching me!

As you may know, tripntravels was started by Paige, Julia and me as a group project in the class Multimedia Communication at the university of Navarra. Each week we were giving new tasks to enhance or blogging skills and gain experiences in the usage of multimedia. To not only do randome excercises we had to choose a topic, which obviously for us was travelling and especially short trips.

As all of us are either already in our last years of uni and write our own blogs, we already had quite a few experiences and knowledge of how blogging and how to do what. But still it was a good to revue best practices and try out some new tools.

I started my other blog when I went to live in New Zealand, mostly for my family and friends to see what I´m up to. That´s why I never cared about linkbuilding, traffic or having an instagram or twitter account. Since I´m planning to do a around the world trip after graduation, though, I´m very interested in improving my blogging skills and learning how to create a succesful blog. So next to reading other succesful blogs, it was great practicing myself a bit. In the close future I will probably move all the content from rutharoundtheglobe to a wordpress account to kick off being more professional.

One of our tasks was to talk about something related to our topic that was inspirational. I´ve always been a big fan of Fabian Sixtus Körner but now I got the chance to talk about it. Also, this post showed me how nice it can be to talk about something else except your travels all the time. For our Group it was great to see what my friends liked to get to know more about them and to somehow establish roles in the team. Julia for example became our photo expert, while Paige the food-junkie.

The next post was meant to be about tools that are useful for our blog. In our case: any websites you use for travelling – I got excited about that because these website didn´t only mean a blogpost but rather better travels for us. In this case the research was even more fun than ever and now we got our collection to plan travels from the general surroundings, to planning activities and last but not least: food.

Last week we were meant to talk about the best work done on our topic this year. I really enjoyed this again because it made me take time to look at other blogs.Usually I am so planned that I never let myself read blog but now I actually had an excuse: it´s homework. Again: here I learned more than in any class, you see what works for a blog. When looking at successful blogs you figure out what they do different and take a little bit of that for yourself. Myself learned that the more you focus on a niche or a certain topic the better. 12hrs for example do 12 hour long trips in any city but with a focus on design and art. From Jungle in Paris I learned how important multimedia in fact is, not only Social media but also including different types of media in your blog.

Right now, we are unsure what will happen to tripntravels after this class – I hope we manage to keep doing it. But if we do, I am sure we have learned a lot and will be better bloggers than before. Thanks to Mr. Breiner and the www we learned things without even noticing. Isn´t that great? So let´s see, what will happen and never say never.

As always: Happy Travels, talk soon,

Ruth

PS: Yes we learned it is good to put photos, but right now there´s no photo I would want to put here (I don´t like randomeness) 😉

Responder

